CTOM Instructors & Mentors


Craig Blackburn

Director, Education Technology & Leadership

Santa Clara County Office of Education

Role: Instructional Coach

Maggie Bunten

Administrator, Techonology JPA, BEST NET/CNCC Consot (CITE Director at Large)
San Bernardino County Superintendents of Schools

Course(s): Assessment (Session 3.1) & Accountability (Session 4.1)

Brianne Ford

Chief Technology Officer (CITE Director at Large)
Irvine Unified School District

Course(s): Leadership & Organizational Planning (Session 1.2) & Project &Team Leadership (Session 2)

Seth Heeren

Assistant Superintendent of Business Services
San Jacinto Unified School District

Course(s): Financial Management (Session 4.2)

Julie Judd

Chief Technology Officer (CITE Director at Large)
Ventura County Office of Education

Course(s): Organizational Leadership & Management (Session 3.2) & Technology Leadership (Session 8.2)

Burt Lo

Chief Technology Officer
Stanislaus County Office of Education

Course(s): K-12 Learning & Classroom Technology (Session 7.2)

Tracey Logan

Chief Technology Office
West Contra Costa Unified School District

Course(s): Leadership & Organizational Planning (Session 1.2) & Technology Leadership (Session 8.2)

Bob Lyons

Chief Technology Officer (Retired)
Nevada Joint Union HS District

Course(s): Technology Policies, Standards, & Plans (Session 8.1)

Laurel Nava

Director of Education & Events

Course(s): Kickoff (Session 1.1)

Jeremy Nishihara

Manager of Information Systems & Human Resources
Sunnyvale School District

Course(s): Personnel Leadership (Session 6.2)

Justin Norcross

Chief Technology Officer
Inyo County Office of Education

Course(s): Financial Management (Session 4.2)

David Thurston

Chief Technology Officer
San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools

Course(s): Cybersecurity (Session 5.2)

Dhanya Unni

Manager, IT
San Mateo County Office of Education

Course(s):Data Governance (Session 5.1)


Mentor Qualifications

Mentors assist the candidate through the curriculum, evaluate work, and submit monthly progress reports. A successful mentor candidate for the CTO Mentor Program should have the following qualifications:

  • Prefer at least 10 years experience as a leader in K-12 Technology
  • Currently holds a position as a leader in K-12 Technology
  • Hands-on experience with K-12 Technology
  • Holds a degree in business related field, CTO certification or demonstrated work experience
  • Commitment of time as needed to consult and review assignments with participants
  • Able to provide work study supervision to candidate in accordance with curriculum guidelines

Ian Byerrum
Technology Coordinator
Ackerman Charter School

Dave Bertelsen
Director - Technology
Victor Valley Union High School District

Patrick Sawyer
Lead IT/CTE Teacher
Kern High School District

Stephen Choi
Chief Technology Officer
San Marino Unified School District

Rebecca Cooksey
Assistant Superintendent, Innovation and Technology Services
Lancaster School District

Vince Butler
Chief Technology Officer
Romoland School District

Jon Carrino
Director of Technology Services
William S. Hart Joint Union High School District

Jared E. Johnson
Director of Technology
Reef-Sunset Unified School District

David Soto
Chief Technology Officer
La Habra City School District

Henry Danielson

Wayne Lacy
Director, Information Services
Tulare County Office of Education

Susan Beltz
Chief Technology Officer
Oakland Unified School District

Antonio Romayor, Jr.
Chief Technology Officer
El Centro Elementary School District

Dave Ragsdale
Assistant Superintendent, Technology and Strategic Operations
Hueneme Elementary School District

Johan Madrigal
Director, Networking Engineering & Telecommunications
Los Angeles County Office of Education

Scott Bennett
Supervisor II – Technology Support
Irvine Unified School District

Catharine Reznicek, M.Ed., Ed.D. Candidate
Director, Education Technology
Ventura County Office of Education

Jeremy Davis
Assistant Superintendent of Innovation and Instructional Support and Board Member, CITE
Fullerton School District

Emilia Simoes
Director II - Information Systems
Stanislaus County Office of Education

Rolland Kornblau
Director of Information Technology
El Rancho Unified School District

Kelly May-Vollmar
Assistant Superintendent of Educational and Technology Services
Desert Sands Unified School District